The Uppity Bastard

Smug Life

John Hodgman is hilarious

I got this from McSweeneys.  It’s a bit long but it’s worth the read.

FIRE:
THE NEXT
SHARP STICK?

A Conversation
Among Cavemen.

BY JOHN HODGMAN

– – – –

Setting: The offices of Ten Men Who Help Each Other But Are Not Brothers, a firm located near the River That’s Not as Wide as the Really Wide River.

(ONE WHO HELPS THE HAIRY ONE is seated, going over some notes. Enter MAKER OF FIRE.)

ONE: (Standing.) Hey, it’s good to see you. Thanks for coming by.

MAKER: Thank you, One Who Helps the Hairy One. I’m sorry I’m late. Somehow I ended up by the Really Wide River.

ONE: Really? When we met by the Sticky Tree, I thought I said near the River That’s Not as Wide as the Really Wide River.

MAKER: That is what you said. I must have gotten turned around at the Sharp Shells.

ONE: Oh, yeah. That happens a lot.

MAKER: I must have just spaced.

Continue reading

November 16, 2008 Posted by | Uncategorized | Leave a comment