The Uppity Bastard

Smug Life

Brett Fav-Rah Better Stay Retired

So apparently the apocalypse is upon us and the end is near and the world cannot go on.favre.jpg Brett Favre has decided to hang up his pads (supposedly). Yesterday’s big story in the sports world was that Favre was going to retire. When I heard this news my immediate reaction was that I would believe it when I see it. But so far, it has seemed legitimate, at least enough so that every sports channel, radio show, and website has been on a 24/7 Favre Nostalgia kick. ESPN itself has dedicated countless hours of programming and space on its website to the horror that is the NFL without number 4.

Now I have never been a Brett Favre guy, I appreciate and respect his numbers and his achievements but forgive me if I don’t really care that he is going to retire.  I mean come on, this is arguably the most nauseating story each NFL offseason without fail. In all honesty, I will not be the least bit surprised if come August, Favre decides that he wants to play and comes out of retirement one or two more times, not unlike some other famous sports stars. Apparently, I’m not the only one who thinks this is possible.

Part of me thinks that Favre is just fucking with Packers back up and incumbent starter Aaron Rodgers, who they drafted to replace #4 three years ago.  Brett- “hey Aaron, I’m hanging it up this year, you will finally get to be the quarterback for the Green Bay Packers.”  Rodgers-“really Brett, thanks, you have been such an inspiration to me, I have been dreaming of this day for so long.”  Brett-“hell no, I’m totally fucking with you kid, I’m QB till I die.”  Rodgers-“God I hate you.”  At least we know that one person will be undeniably happy when Favre comes back (seriously, who thinks he’s not playing again).

madden.jpeg

March 5, 2008 - Posted by | sports | , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Your Horse-Trailer picture is a funny idea but it is constructed terribly. The though counts, though…

    Comment by Jill Hater | March 5, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

