The Uppity Bastard

Smug Life

The Glory of Rick Astley

dpub_astley80s1.jpgOk so I posted some of these on Myspace the other day but I felt I needed something to go up here to get the ball rolling, so here is my tribute to Rick Astley.

Now I grew up in the 80’s, so I am of course familiar with some of Rick’s songs, but i never really got a look at the dude until somewhat recently. Not only is goofy looking redhead british guy, he is an amazing dancer. His biggest hit song “Never Gonna Give You Up,” in case you’ve never heard it, can be explained via this helpful chart:

2282655473_4565b351fb.jpg

Anyway, the whole reason I have been championing Rick this past week is because I came across two videos that truly speak to my soul, and make me laugh until I start convulsing. The first one here is a mod of the classic computer game DOOM II:

…this next one is the video for “Never Gonna Give You Up,” but someone messed with the audio and video and made this glorious masterpiece. This thing seriously kills me. Enjoy.

February 28, 2008 - Posted by | Music | ,

1 Comment »

  1. Gotta ❤ the pie chart, that’s gold…gold. However, though technically not part of the song, you forgot that Rick Astley would never go on to have another hit…rock.

    Comment by Mona | March 6, 2008 | Reply


Leave a comment